This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

ORM Framework

Nov 4, 2009 at 5:47 PM

What were the design considerations for choosing Vici.CoolStorage over other ORM frameworks, particularly NHibernate?  I've used Java Hibernate in the past, and while I've had no experience with its .NET counterpart, it seems like Hibernate has a strong presence in the market and is well-supported.  It seems like carefully choosing the ORM framework would be an important consideration.

Nov 4, 2009 at 8:04 PM

Thank you for your input.

I have reviewed several other ORM frameworks including Castle.ActiveRecord (based on NHibernate), Subsonic and Vici.CoolStorage. The main reason for chosing Vici.CoolStorage was the ease of use for the developer. However, after having become more familiar with ORM frameworks and Vici.CoolStorage I acknowledge that it has some disadvantages. To summarize my experience so far:

• Vici.CoolStorage advantages: very easy to set up (no need to use configuration files or session object), seems to work faster than NHibernate, lightweight, easy to debug the source code, very permissive licence, good support for transactions
  • Vici.CoolStorage disadvantages: Requires each class to inherit from CSObject<T>, requires table columns to be mapped to public abstract fields, problems with many-to-many relations
  • NHibernate advantages: More customizable ( classes don't need to inherit from any special base class), wider support and large developer community, better separation of the database and application logic
  • NHibernate disadvantages: more difficult to set up (extensive configuration file), requires writing of xml mapping files (error prone), slower than Vici.CoolStorage when dealing with one-to-many relationships, requires to maintain a special NHibernate.Session object.