This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Extending HydroDesktop with download of other kind of data?

Dec 13, 2011 at 3:58 PM

Hi all,

I posted already a few comments in this forum, however, I didn't introduce myself yet.

I'm Anja and work in the hydrology department of a Belgian university. I'm currently doing a bachelor programme in informatics and for the final (programming) project I would like to extend HydroDesktop with some features. My department would like to use HydroDesktop and HydroServer to store the hydrological data that we have bought in a database, however, this data is property of the department so will be used only as an unpublished web service. We have also maps, tables and more metadata that we would like to make downloadable through HydroDesktop, however, the search function is not foreseeing this kind of downloads and neither is HydroServer. I was wondering if there are any plans or interests to extend HydroDesktop (and/or HydroServer) to this kind of functionality or if this is a good plan?

Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated!

Regards,

Anja

Dec 13, 2011 at 4:29 PM
This is a good plan and we would welcome you to work with us on it. For example you could post a design or detailed recommendations for how this would be implemented. You could also work on the code directly if you are interested.

- Dan

--------------------------
Daniel P. Ames, Ph.D. PE
Associate Professor, Geosciences
Idaho State University - Idaho Falls
dan.ames@isu.edu
geology.isu.edu
www.mapwindow.org

On Tue, Dec 13, 2011 at 8:59 AM, AnjaC <notifications@codeplex.com> wrote:

Hi all,

I posted already a few comments in this forum, however, I didn't introduce myself yet.